The Arcaded Courtyard will be closed at 8:00 pm today. "Oriental Art" closed until further information

Hours and Tickets

tickets:

regular 25 PLN, reduced 15 PLN

summer season

27 Jun. - 31 Oct.

Tuesday-Sunday

9:30 am-5 pm

last visitor entry - 4:15 pm

disinfection break: 13.00 pm-1:30 pm, last visitor entry before break – 12:30 pm

Permanent exhibition

State Rooms

The main exhibition of the castle’s interiors includes several rooms on the ground floor and guest apartments on the second floor. The exhibition covers 4 rooms on the ground floor and 14 rooms on the 2nd floor of the Castle.

The “State Rooms“ were the formal, public rooms of the palace, in which monarchs received and entertained their subjects and visiting dignitaries. Displayed throughout are exquisite, gold-woven tapestries from the collection of King Sigismund II Augustus. Other works on view include royal portraits, Italian and Dutch Old Master paintings, and Italian Renaissance furniture.
Permanent exhibition

State Rooms

Many rooms have colorful late-Baroque tile stoves which replace the original Renaissance stoves that were destroyed when Cracow was under Austrian domination in the 19th century. Gilt-leather wall hangings adorn the Baroque-period interiors.
Permanent exhibition

State Rooms

scroll down
Permanent exhibition

State Rooms

The three rooms on the ground floor, which served as the suite of the Governors of Cracow, have retained their Renaissance wooden ceilings. Their stone portals were reconstructed in the inter-war period. The Envoys’ Stairway which connects the ground level with the private royal apartments on the first floor and the rooms on the second floor boasts original Renaissance portals.
Permanent exhibition

State Rooms

scroll down
Permanent exhibition

State Rooms

Tapestries commissioned by Sigismund Augustus are the most valuable treasure of the Renaissance rooms, and the only art object preserved from the original interior decoration. Woven in Brussels in the third quarter of the 16th century, they depict biblical and grotesque scenes, and the coats of arms of Poland and Lithuania. There are also valuable paintings, Italian furniture, predominantly from 16th century Tuscany, and Polish royal portraits.
Permanent exhibition

State Rooms

scroll down
Permanent exhibition

State Rooms

The second floor of the eastern and northern wings houses guest apartments. Their original ceilings were
damaged by fire in 1702 and again during the Austrian occupation in the early 19th century. Large
fragments of original wall friezes are preserved in the three rooms located to the south of the Envoys’ Stairs
(missing fragments were reconstructed before the Second World War). The Envoys’ Room boasts an
astonishing ceiling with woodcarvings of 30 human heads.
Permanent exhibition

State Rooms

scroll down
Permanent exhibition

State Rooms

After a fire in 1595 Sigismund III Vasa commissioned the restoration of the interiors in the northern wing of the castle, which was carried out by the architect Giovanni Trevano and the painter Tomasso Dolabella. Only the Senatorial Room was untouched by the fire. In other interiors among the objects that survived are marble portals and a magnificent early Roman Baroque fireplace, as well as stucco ceilings.
Permanent exhibition

State Rooms

The present reproduction Baroque ceilings, from the inter-war period, are filled with plafonds by then noted Polish painters-colourists of the time, and the walls are covered with 18th century cordovan tapestries. Portraits of Polish kings and members of the royal families, as well as paintings of historic moments in Poland’s past, are the dominant feature in this section of the castle.
Permanent exhibition

State Rooms

scroll down
Permanent exhibition

State Rooms

The Envoys’ Room

Here sessions of the Lower House (Seym) were held in the presence of the king. The ceiling coffer, reconstructed in the first half of the 20th century, shows 30 woodcarvings of human heads created in 1540. The original ceiling - the work of Sebastian Tauerbach’s workshop - consisted of 194 of such sculptures (it was seriously damaged at the beginning of the 19th century). The wall frieze, which dates from the same period as the sculptures, depicting “The story of human life”, is an illustration of an ancient Greek text "Tabula Cebetis".

Permanent exhibition

State Rooms

The tapestry entitled "God speaking to Noah", from Sigismund Augustus’ collection, was made in the mid. 16th century in Brussels based on a pattern by Michiel Coxcie. Renaissance portraits of King Sigismund the Old and of his daughter Anna Jagiello were painted by Marcin Kober. There is also an 18th century stove from the palace in Wiśniowiec.
Permanent exhibition

State Rooms

scroll down
Permanent exhibition

State Rooms

The Senator’s Hall

This largest room in the castle was originally designated for sessions of the Senate, important state and
court ceremonies, royal weddings, theatre performances and balls. The first royal wedding, that of
Sigismund I to Bona Sworza, took place here in 1518. The walls are decorated with large figural tapestries
with biblical themes from Sigismund Augustus’ collection. A Classicist armchair has replaced the throne.
Permanent exhibition

State Rooms

scroll down